April 3, 2008

Boy, do I have a bunch of red rocks

Posted in Tumbler tagged , , at 1:09 pm by jewelrybyleyla

I’ve been slacking a bit, been doing other stuff. But I finally checked on the tumblers. Lots of progress. As I think I wrote last time, my smaller tumbler didn’t quite have enough material to run a full load on the next stage. So the past week plus more material was tumbling at stage 2, so that it could be combined with the previous material for a full load. That was completed today, and now the rocks are happily rolling in stage 3 grit (fine, or pre-polish). So a couple more weeks, and there will be more happy shiny rocks. Of course that means I need to get cracking on the last batch and making them into jewelry *hangs her head in shame for not having done any yet*.

The larger tumbler was cleaned out and restarted with some of the old and some new material. And as I was looking at the containers holding the rocks, one thought came to mind “I have a bunch of red rock, for not really liking red.”

done with stage 1 These are done with stage 1… see all those red rocks….

not done yet These went back into stage 1 grit… see all those red rocks?

Last time I started the large tumbler, I started a bit of an experiment. Previously, I had kept some of the old slurry, to “jump start” the new stuff. Then I decided , to start fresh with every batch or so. So that’s what I did last time… I had quite a few more rocks that were ready to move on when I opened up the tumbler today. So that’s my plan for now. So I added more rocks to the tumbler, and restarted it. And I’m almost out of rocks! I had bought roughly 25 lbs at Christmas, and another 15 lbs or so just after that. And I’m down to a handful of onyx, crazy lace, and green tree agate. Oh, and some carnelian that could probably go into the large tumbler with everything else initially… before being sorted out for the finer stages. Also, I’m nearly out of the coarse grit, too. So until I make more money, when this stuff runs out…that might be it for a bit. So buy stuff! hehe.

Leave a Reply

